Quick “North Face” (2008) review

11 07 2010

North Face is kind of unknown gem that I really couldn’t recommend more.  It’s based on a true story about a group of climbers in 1930’s Germany who attempt to be the first to summit the Eiger North Face, thought to be an almost impossible feat.

I saw North Face because I heard great things about it from a friend, who more specifically told me that the movie was so intense he almost vomited while he was leaving the theater.  Before I saw the movie I had assumed that he was just exaggerating, but now I can say that I actually don’t think that’s too far from the truth.  I’m sure you can imagine that a movie about a dangerous trip up a mountain in extreme weather would have its share of thrills, but this one really doesn’t ever let up. 

9/10

P.S.  This is available on Netflix Instant.

Actions

Information

One response

12 07 2010
doctor documentary

It’s too rare that a film makes me want to vomit. So I’ll move this quickly up my list of things-to-see. Thanks for the tip.

On a related note, Touching the Void is another gut-wrenching movie – a documentary about a pair of climbers who find themselves up a creek while up a peak. It’s really quite painful. And controversial because the one guy leaves the other behind.

Leave a Reply

