True Blood: Season 1

2 01 2010

With Twilight winding its way through the hearts of thousands and the movie Daybreakers coming out next week, I am surprised I had yet to watch the HBO show True Blood, yet another installment in the vampire craze right now.  Vampires have always been an exciting and seductive character in fiction throughout history, but today they seem sexier than ever.  If you think though that Twilight is too PG for yor taste (Where is all the blood, anyway?) and if you think that the Twilight vamps are a bit too ridiculous (They can go out in the daytime? Instead of disintergrating in the sun they glitter?), than True Blood is for you.  It makes a lot of similar plot parallels as Twilight, but in a much more believable, bloody, sexy and thrilling way (It harkens more to the recent Korean vampire movie Thirst intensity.). 

True Blood is based on a series of novels by Charlaine Harris titled The Southern Vampire Mysteries (I have not read the books, but now I want to).  The story is set in a fictional Louisiana town called Bon Temps.  In the world of the show, vampires have the ability to co-exist peacefully with humans due to the development of synthetic blood, but some humans still regard vampires as dangerous creatures who have the capability to kill humans easily and the desire to do so for pleasure. 

In the midst of political and religious turmoil due to the fact that vampires have just recently made public their existence, telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse (Anna Paquin) and vampire Bill Compton (Stephen Moyer) fall in love.   Similarly to Twilight, True Blood‘s biggest failing for me is the fact that the main love story’s characters are just about the least convincing.  That isn’t to say that the characters aren’t well acted (as much as I dislike Paquin, she does fine in this series).  I just feel like there is no chemistry.   

Bill and Sookie

Aside from them though, pretty much everything else about True Blood is fantastic.  The side characters are quirky and interesting, and the growing religious tensions and Christian fanatacism against vampires is revealing itself to be very promising.  Murder, drug addiction, sex, exorcisms, telepathy, deception, vampires, shapeshifters: What more could you want? 

Just give it a chance.  I give True Blood an 8/10.

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 01 2010
ptpotts

I agree – I love vampires – but I always find that the relationship between the vampire and lead female is weak – ie. Buffy & Angel – wasn’t a fan. By season two Bill and Sookie’s relationship develops a bit more though and is more believable.

2 01 2010
Maryann

I am now four episodes into season two and I do believe that it’s getting better. I am excited to watch the development. Thanks for the comment!

3 01 2010
aemac

I’m not normally a fan of the vampire genre, but I’ve watched both seasons of True Blood and I find the relationship between Bill and Sookie to be some of the best chemistry I’ve ever seen on TV and I’m loving the developing relationship between the two. I just hope the writers of this great show don’t screw it up like what seems to happen to most programs.

5 01 2010
Maryann

The more I watch season two the more I agree with you. I also hope they don’t screw it up since I’m enjoying it more and more all the time!

Leave a Reply

